$323M to Turn 20 Australian Schools into 6 Super Schools: 5 Reasons Why They're So Special (+ INFOGRAPHIC)

4 years ago



Australia keeps working to modernize its school system. Since 2009, the South Australian State Government has allocated $323 million to condense 20 regular schools into 6 "super" schools.




One super school opened in 2011 currently occupies 15 hectares. There are three co-educational campuses making the Roma Mitchell Secondary College (RMSC). Being one of the largest out of 6 super schools, this educational institution explores the ‘school within a school’ concept.


What’s Good About the Super Schools?


With 1,301 people enrolled in RMSC in 2016, most of the students have been transferred from other schools that were closed to make way for the super school. The RMSC has recently been accredited in the International Baccalaureate Organisation (IBO) and joined the Middle Years Programme (MYP) to offer to Year 8, 9, and 10 students. Also, RMSC has a versatile language programme. Among the languages offered are Italian, German, Japanese, Persian, Arabic, Hindi and Vietnamese.




Another super school is The Mark Oliphant College (MOC), Munno Parra, also established in 2011. MOC has 5 sub-schools (Children’s Centre, Early Years, Primary Years, Middle Years, and Senior Years). The main educational principle professed by MOC is ‘less is more’ which later transformed into ‘narrow and deep’.  The curriculum has a limited number of subject choices for students until Year 9.




As reported by EducationHQ, the MOC school has a 1:1 policy on iPads from Primary Years to Middle Years and 1:1 Macbooks in the Senior Years. The record $690 million is to be allocated to public schools by the South Australian Government.


To sum up 5 reasons why Australian super schools are so special, check out the infographic below:




recommended for you

Any questions or propositions?